Bearing Witness

Tel Aviv

I have arrived in Tel Aviv, after successfully navigating my way through a half hour interview at the airport. I felt like I was in an episode of boarder security, I was lead to a private room and grilled for half an hour by three different immigration officers.

My first day in Israel was spent sorting out my mobile phone, walking along the beach and through the Yemenite Quarter. Tonight I’m out to experience some of the famous Tel Aviv night life and tomorrow I plan to register my travels with the Australian Embassy and go to Tel Aviv Art Museum to check out their superb collection of Impressionist and post-Impressionist paintings, including works by Van Gogh and Matisse. Then on Tuesday I’m off to Nablus, to start my work with Project Hope.
Here are couple photos from my first day in Tel Aviv
Follow the light, the beach south of Tel Aviv.

Follow the light, the beach south of Tel Aviv.

Carmel Market - the Yemenite Quarter

Carmel Market - the Yemenite Quarter

November 2, 2008 - Posted by | My Travels |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

