Bearing Witness

In Position

Well 30 hours, 4 planes, a bus and a car ride latter I have arrived and Gaza awaits : ]

I have had a tour of Tahir and it looks like the money has been well spent. I feel like big Kev “I’m ECITED !

I am posing as a tourist and have keep up appearances pretty well swimming, eating, drinking and making new friends, although I am looking forward to the rest of the crew arriving today and tomorrow – as keeping our mission to myself is killing me. This is the biggest thing I have ever taken on and while it’s an honour and a privilege to be here, it has been an emotional roller coaster and I am looking forward to hanging out with others who are on the same ride.

The contrast between where I am and where I am going is worlds apart. Where I am has electricity 24 hours a day, clean running water, working sewerage system, plentiful food supplies and an idyllic coast line. Where I am going has power cuts most days, polluted water supplies, no working sewerage system, 80% of the population reliant ion the UN for basic human needs like food and where a day at the beach can end in tragedy.  

This is my commitment to the people of Gaza, I and the rest of the international solidarity movement will not rest until normal life has been restored to Gaza and the differences between where I am and where I am going are only cultural – not life threatening !

June 20, 2011 - Posted by | Freedom Flotilla Two, My Thoughts | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. once again: good luck my friend!!! I’ll read your every post!

    Comment by Trude | June 20, 2011

  2. Cheers Trude : ]

    Comment by occupiedterritories | June 20, 2011

  3. please, i need to know how to participate in this mission??????

    Comment by meriame achemlal | June 22, 2011

  4. Hey Meriame,
    Thanks for the interest, you can donate to the mission all the info is on our website http://www.palrelief.org/palrelief/page.php?14
    Cheers michael

    Comment by occupiedterritories | June 22, 2011

  5. Great Going Michael !! I’ve only just heard about your mission. Never met you, only just read what you did in the paper. Thanks for caring about the Gazans !! Woz.

    Comment by Woo | November 6, 2011


Leave a Reply

