Bearing Witness

Week Three in Gaza > Youth > Products > Celebrations > Fundraising

This week I have been feeling a little off colour and actually fainted several days ago, so I have not been as busy as I was in the first couple of weeks. I think I over did it trying to do too much at once when I first arrived and that plus the stress of adjusting to a new environment was just too much for me. However I am feeling better now and I have started to pace myself, as I am here for the long haul.

This week I had the pleasure of meeting the Gaza Ark Youth Committee, a group of inspiring and highly motivated young people who are asset to the Gaza Ark project. Up until our first meeting I had mainly been working the Youth Committees Products Sub-Committee, who had been assisting me in finding producers and helping with translation at meetings, as I only have shawy aka little Arabic at this point.

Hanging with the Gaza Ark Youth Committee

One of the producers that they have put me in contact with is the Palestinian Association  for Development and Heritage Protection and this week I spent an amazing day with their very talented staff, looking at there wonderful embroidered products and incredible selection of heritage items. I am sure you will see some their products in the second release of products available through the Gaza Ark project. On that note keep an eye on the website this week for the announcement of the first release of products available through the Gaza Ark project, we have chosen eight products to start with that will be available for sale through our website and exported aboard the Ark > http://www.gazaark.org

One of the very talented women from the Palestinian Association  for Development and Heritage Protection modeling a hand embroidered shawl

One of the very talented women from the Palestinian Association for Development and Heritage Protection modeling a hand embroidered shawl

This week I also got to celebrate the 31st anniversary of the  Palestinian Peoples Party at a celebration out at Rafah, this was great day to be with the comrades. Shamikh badra, the co-ordinator of their youth wing and who I meet on his trip to Australia last year, has been very welcoming and supportive since my arrival in the Gaza Strip. Which has been very appreciated, as to a certain extent I am flying solo here, unlike my time in Nablus where I volunteered with Project Hope and had a ready-made support network to fall back on. See the photo’s of the celebration here > http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.446680098735274.99569.158095294260424&type=1

Finally this week I shot a fundraising video for Gaza’s Ark, this video will be premiered at Free Gaza Australia’s “Gaza’s Ark fundraiser at Plunge” in Summer Hill in Sydney  on the 6th of March > if you’re in Sydney get your self there to enjoy some amazing Middle Eastern food and to show your support for ending the blockade of the Gaza Strip. Here is the link to Facebook event page > http://www.facebook.com/events/131257413706111/ and here a link to some photo’s of our day filming at the port in Gaza > http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.446982592038358.99628.158095294260424&type=1

Speak next week > my Salaam.

February 22, 2013 - Posted by | Gaza's Ark | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

